Plenary Speakers

Eva Jablonka is a retired professor in the Cohn Institute for the History and Philosophy of Science and Ideas, Tel-Aviv, a member of the Sagol School of Neuroscience, Tel-Aviv, and a Research Associate in the CPNSS (LSE, London University). Her main interests are the understanding of evolution, especially evolution that is driven by non-genetic hereditary variations, and the evolution of nervous systems and consciousness. Her books in English include: Epigenetic Inheritance and Evolution (OUP with Marion Lamb), Animal Traditions (CUP with Eytan Avital), Evolution in 4 Dimensions (MIT with Marion Lamb), The Evolution of the Sensitive Soul (MIT with Simona Ginsburg), Inheritance Systems and the Extended Evolutionary Synthesis (CUP, with Marion Lamb), and Picturing the Mind: Consciousness through the Lens of Evolution (In Press with MIT Press, with Anna Zeligowski and Simona Ginsburg). 

Steven French is Professor of the Philosophy of Science at the University of Leeds and previously taught in Brazil and the USA. He has published a number of books and papers on topics ranging from the applicability of mathematics to the relationship between aesthetics and science, as well as the philosophy of quantum mechanics and structural realism. His most recent book is There Are No Such Things As Theories, OUP (2020) and he has also recently co-edited The Aesthetics of Science: Beauty, Imagination and Understanding, with Milena Ivanova (Routledge, 2020) and Scientific Realism and the Quantum, with Juha Saatsi (OUP, 2020). He has been Co-Editor-in-Chief of The British Journal for the Philosophy of Science and also Editor-in-Chief of the Palgrave-Macmillan monograph series New Directions in Philosophy of Science. He is currently writing what he suspects will be his last book on a little-known phenomenological understanding of quantum theory and then he plans to spend his time reading comics and listening to doom metal.

Catarina Dutilh Novaes is Professor of Philosophy and University Research Chair at the VU Amsterdam, and Professorial Fellow at Arché, St. Andrews. Her work spans over different areas of philosophy, including history and philosophy of logic, philosophy of mathematics, argumentation, and social epistemology, and is characterized by sustained engagement with other disciplines such as psychology, cognitive science, mathematics, computer science, history, and the social sciences. She is the author of numerous articles and three monographs, including Formal Languages in Logic (CUP, 2012) and The Dialogical Roots of Deduction (CUP, 2020). From 2018 to 2023 she is leading the ERC-Consolidator project 'The Social Epistemology of Argumentation', which aims at formulating a realistic account of the role of argumentation in processes of producing and sharing knowledge which can be used to analyze concrete instances of argumentation in different domains such as politics and science.

Catarina is the Women's Caucus Plenary Speaker.

Christian List is Professor of Philosophy and Decision Theory at LMU Munich and Co-Director of the Munich Center for Mathematical Philosophy. He is also a Visiting Professor in the Department of Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method at the London School of Economics, where he was previously based. He works at the intersection of philosophy, economics, and political science, with a particular focus on individual and collective decision-making and the nature of intentional agency. He was awarded the 2020 Joseph B. Gittler Award of the American Philosophical Association for his book Why Free Will is Real (Harvard University Press, 2019) and the 2010 Social Choice and Welfare Prize (jointly with Franz Dietrich) for his work on judgment aggregation. In recent years, he has worked on a number of metaphysical issues, including not only free will but also causation, probability, and the relationship between “micro” and “macro” levels of analysis in the sciences. His previous book was Group Agency: The Possibility, Design, and Status of Corporate Agents (with Philip Pettit, Oxford University Press 2011). More information and downloadable papers can be found on his webpage.

© 2024 European Philosophy of Science Association

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software